DUI Lawyer

Orange County's Leader In DUI Defense

1(877) DUI-PROS

(949) 614-0404  *  (714) 558-1200

Free Consultation

DUI Defense Attorney


What To Do FirsT Following a DUI Arrest


If you, a family member or someone you know has been arrested for DUI in Orange County you need accurate information to help guide you through the process. People are not prepared for what follows when stopped by local police officers, sheriff's deputies or California Highway Patrol officers and no one expects to be arrested for driving under the influence. DUI arrests can be frightening and are highly stressful events. If you follow the steps outlined here, you can save yourself a lot of time and aggravation.


Finding a Driver in Jail


After a person is arrested for driving under the influence in Orange County, they are usually taken to a police station or other police facility and then to the Orange County County Jail. Locating a person in jail can be difficult if you do not have information that the Orange County Sheriff's Deputies require. There are several jails in Orange County, so if you are trying to locate someone who has been arrested, having that person's full name and date of birth will make finding them easier.


Release Following Arrest


After a person is booked into the County Jail, he or she may be released on their written promise to appear in court after several hours of confinement. This is called Own Recognizance Release. In some cases, however, a person will not be released from jail unless and until they post bail. Bail is an amount of money or property posted with the court as security to ensure the arrested person's appearance in court.


If bail is required, finding a bail agent is necessary. A bail agent provides the bond to ensure the court appearance of the arrested person. Edgar Reynoso has relationships with bail agents and will probably be able to obtain bail at a substantial discount. Therefore, it makes sense to contact Edgar Reynoso prior to contacting a bail agent.


Hiring an Experienced DUI Attorney


Hiring a competent and trustworthy locally based DUI Attorney is an essential step in the DUI criminal process. A Orange County DUI Lawyer can protect your rights, investigate the circumstances of your arrest, represent you at your court and DMV case, and inform you of your legal options while trying to win the DUI case or minimize its impact. A skilled DUI Attorney should have specialized knowledge and access to the resources necessary to effectively defend you and successfully fight your DUI charges.


Scheduling the DMV Hearing


The California Highway Patrol, Orange County Police Officer, or other law enforcement officer will confiscate the California driver's license of a person 21 years of age or older if their blood alcohol level measured 0.08 percent or more on an evidential breath test or if they submitted to a blood alcohol test. The California driver's license of a driver under 21 years of age will be taken if they had any measurable amount of alcohol in their blood as measured by an evidential breath test or Preliminary Alcohol Screening Device (PAS).


The officer is required to issued the driver an Order of Suspension and Temporary Driver's License. An out of state driver will not have their license confiscated, but will be issued an Order of Suspension and Temporary Driver's License. However, regardless of whether the person has a California driver's license or a driver's license from another state, they will have only ten (10) calendar days from the date of the DUI arrest to request a Hearing with the California Department of Motor Vehicles Driver Safety Office to contest the suspension of their driving privileges. Failure to request a DMV Hearing within ten (10) days of the DUI arrest will result in an automatic suspension thirty (30) days from the date of the arrest for a minimum of four (4) months.




Shortly after DUI charges have been filed against a person, they must go to court for Arraignment or have an attorney appear at the Arraignment for them. At the Arraignment, the person or attorney must enter a plea of Not Guilty, Guilty, or No Contest. If a person pleads Guilty or No Contest, a sentence may be imposed immediately or at a later date. Also at the Arraignment, the judge may set release conditions and will set future court dates. Remember, a person is innocent unless and until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. There are many defenses available in DUI cases. Only by working with a qualified and skilled DUI Attorney can a person increase his or her chances of building a defense which could prevent a DUI conviction or minimize its impact.


Orange County DUI Attorney


The Law Office of Edgar Reynoso has been helping people charged with DUI in Orange County for well over fifteen years. Edgar Reynoso has the specialized education, training, and experience to defend you if you have been arrested for driving under the influence in Orange County or any other Northern California county. His office will also schedule and represent you at the California DMV license suspension hearing. Remember, you only have ten (10) days from the date of the DUI arrest to prevent your license from automatically being suspended.


When you hire Edgar Reynoso, you are retaining the services of a knowledgeable and trustworthy DUI defense lawyer.


Office Location and Areas We Serve


Our main office is conveniently located in Orange County, California. We represent clients who have been arrested for DUI in all Orange County cities, including:



Newport Beach


Contact a DUI Attorney Today!


Our aggressive team approach and skilled handling of DUI and DMV cases have led to an outstanding success record in Orange County and the surrounding areas.


To schedule a free initial consultation with a dedicated Orange County attorney, call us at 1(877) DUI-PROS or 714-558-1200 for a free consultation.


Email: Orange County DUI Lawyer


We are here to help! 



Local Offices:

(714) 558-1200

(949) 614-0404


(877) 384-7767